Tone 40 | Oren Ambarchi – “Intermission 2000-2008”

TONE40 - Intermission 2000-2008 - Oren Ambarchi

CD in Digipak
Artwork & design: Jon Wozencroft

Track listing:

1. Intimidator
2. Iron Waves
3. Moving Violation
4. The Strouhal Number
5. A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks

Intermission brings together a range of material Oren Ambarchi has contributed to compilations and limited edition vinyl releases between the years 2000 and 2008. Highlights include two live recordings – an early, fragile solo guitar recording taken from a radio broadcast in 2000 and A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks, his powerful 12″ recorded live in Vancouver in 2007 and originally released on Table Of The Elements. Additional tracks include Iron Waves an exclusive track in collaboration with vocalist Paul Duncan and Intimidator featuring Australian pianist/composer Anthony Pateras originally released on Southern Lord.

These are special anomalies in the Ambarchi canon but nonetheless feature the hallmarks of his unique soundworld, all underpinned by his trademark deep guitar tones and meticulous attention to detail. All tracks are newly remastered, many of which are available on CD for first time.

Track notes:

Intimidator Guitars and prepared piano recorded at Jerker House and Enormodome, Melbourne in 2006 Anthony Pateras: Prepared Piano. Originally released on the 2LP version of ‘In The Pendulum’s Embrace’ Southern Lord, USA.
Iron Waves Remix of Paul Duncan’s ‘Parasail’ from the ‘Above The Trees’ CD, Hometapes, USA Guitars, Bells, Cymbals recorded at Jerker House, Melbourne and BJB, Sydney in 2008. Previously unreleased.

Moving Violation Guitars recorded at Jerker House, Melbourne November 2005. A version was originally released on Touch’s 25th anniversary CD, Touch 25, UK.
The Strouhal Number Guitar recorded live at 2SER FM Sydney in 2000 by Tony Dupe’. Originally released on ‘Live & Direct’ CD Spunk/Preservation records, Australia.
A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks Guitar recorded live at Vancouver New Music Festival Oct 17, 2007 by Gary Morgan Bells and motorised cymbal recorded at BJB, Sydney. Originally released as a limited 12″ on Table Of The Elements, USA.
All tracks remastered by Lachlan Carrick at Moose, Melbourne August 2009.